New Year – New Stuff

Another fresh new year is here . . . Another year to live!
To banish worry, doubt, and fear, To love and laugh and give!

First, Happy New Year to you all! How many times have you written the date as 2010 since the year changed? That always takes me a while to get used to. So we have a whole new year to get it right!

I have been meaning to do this for a while, and here it is — the new look for the blog. The only thing I am not pleased with is the blue links, but it’s something that WordPress won’t let me change unless I pay for an upgrade — maybe later. I found the cool calendar api and installed it – all the different people holding the dates – such fun! I also added lots more blog links in the sidebar, so check out our friends! Everyone is doing amazing things!

I am in the process of changing the format over at Simple Fibers, too. It will soon be a free site for anyone who wants to list their fiber resource web site. I tried it as a paid advertising site, but didn’t get a good response. But, I still think it’s a good idea and I will keep it running as a free listing site. It will still be for fiber related resources only and I will approve all the requests for inclusion to the listings. Stay tuned for those changes, and I hope the site will grow faster once the word gets out that the site is going to be FREE! Free is good, right? We need to help each other in this economy.

I am working on selecting an antique rug to use for my adaptation and the upcoming Hook-a-Month design. That’s always a hard choice. I recently sent out the last wool shipment for the Winter Hook-a-Month – if you’ve been working on that one, please send me your progress photos! I am still (yes, still) working on the Fraktur rug for myself. This is the longest it has ever taken me to hook a rug. Life just keeps getting in the way.

My best friend and I have opened a new Etsy shop to sell vintage and collectible items. We are both former antique dealers and just have too much stuff to hang on to. She changed her antique shop to a jewelry boutique last summer and I just have a lot of great finds that need to find new homes. So, we pooled our goods and opened Vintage on the Ridge at Etsy.com. . . “The Ridge” is the street (N Ridge Road) we both live on, so it just made sense (to us at least.) I am the appointed photo taker, listing writer and shipper (yeah, I am basically doing it all.) Please stop by and see if you find any treasures – I have lots more to add, but like I said, too little time. I am working on it though.

I hope you are warm and happy, with hooking in your lap, and new inspiration in your heart.

Leave a Reply

