Fall Hooking

There’s nothing better in my world than a crisp, sunny fall day. Yeah, well, we have yet to see one those days here in northern Ohio. Mid-October, and we have seen record setting low temps all month – rain, wind, and cold. I am really longing for Indian Summer – remember those days? We used to have some every Fall . . . the cool nights would give way to sunshine and above average temperatures as the day progressed. We would get out and rake leaves, put the gardens to bed for the winter, and enjoy cleaning up the yard for Fall. I NEED that!! Bundle up and get it done, you say? I would but it’s rather hard to rake leaves in the pouring, driving rain! OK – that’s off my chest. And there is good news to share . . .

Fall rug hooking classes began two weeks ago, and the new students are very enthusiastic and doing quite well already. I think they are enjoying their night out once a week and everyone is getting along famously. We accomplished quite a lot already and this Tuesday I will be teaching them how to dye wool without commercial dyes. That is always a fun class and I love to see their interest pique as we move along. The best part is when I pull the lovely new woolies out of the dryer and give them each a piece to add to their new stash. I will try to remember to take pics this coming week and share with you.

If you have not entered the Halloween mat giveaway yet, time is running out. The winner’s name will be chosen randomly on the evening of October 18th – the night of the new moon (after dark, of course.) You can enter every day to get as many chances of winning as possible. The mat is one that I hooked and was designed by Sharon West. Here he is . . . design by Sharon West, hooked by Sally Van Nuys

I was excited to get my Fall (Oct)  issue of The Wool Street Journal . . . Bonnie published an article that I wrote and also put photos of some of my rugs on the inside front cover, in color! I am very grateful to her for all of that.  It’s such a great magazine, filled with fun and light for rug hookers – everyone looks forward to each new issue. Thanks, Bonnie!

October 2009 issue Wool Street JournalIf you are not a subscriber, check it out — you will love this mag!

I must get going and start painting . . . a lovely antiques dealer from Indiana called and ordered 40 bars of my hand-painted Christmas soap! I am thankful for the order, but I will be painting soap for quite some time. I am not quite in the mood for Christmas yet – I think I will wait until Halloween passes before I break out the tinsel – how about you?

Thanks for dropping in today – send me some warm weather, will ya?Snowmen Soaps

Christmas Soaps

Leave a Reply

