can you believe it?

I am actually here updating my blog! You all thought I was a bad blogger before . . . I can’t believe it’s been this long since I had anything to post. Well, it’s not so much that I haven’t had anything to post, but that I haven’t posted it. Between Etsy, 1000 Markets, my e-newsletter, my web site, and well, life, I guess this one keeps falling to the wayside. So here I am to try to take another stab at being a blogger.

Online business has been quite slow since the recession began. While that makes it difficult to pay the bills, the challenge of keeping up with two homes is even more difficult. My son is living in my former home while I try to work on it to get ready to sell (before I lose it), and I have plenty to do here in my childhood home to keep it up.  Life has been a bit of a challenge since my mom passed away – I cannot believe it is almost a year since she died. Timing of paying to keep up with two houses wasn’t the best, but that is what life has given me. Eventually, it will be better.

So, on to rug hooking — what have you all been keeping busy with? Creating designs for Create and Decorate continues to keep me busy and hooking. The gals who have hooked my last two Hook-a-Month projects have kept me busy and I am hearing all good things about those rugs. It is so nice to hear that the rug hookers like the designs I selected and are enjoying the making of their rugs. I know finances are difficult for many right now, and  rug hooking might not be a priority; however, I would encourage you to continue to hook and create – it is part of who you are and what you do to fulfill the creative side of you. It will help lift your spirits, and provide some at-home entertainment and satisfaction while we muddle through this difficult time.

If you are a hooker who normally purchases kits with wool, instead try recycling wool — it’s a thrifty alternative to purchasing yardage, and provides you with some exclusive wools for your rugs. No one else will have the same wools that you have! Look at your local thrift stores – Salvation Army and Goodwill usually have a decent selection of wool clothing at affordable prices. Select large size skirts and slacks to get the most for your money. If you don’t live where wool clothing is available, watch eBay for 100% wool (the wool mark is a good indication) slacks and skirts in large sizes. If the price is right, you can build your stash that way (but then there is the shipping costs.) My point is, don’t let the poor economy steal your passion for hooking.

So here is my latest creation for Create and Decorate – you’ll find it in the Holiday issue on newsstands Sept. 15th. I created a matching punch needle pin design, too.Adaptation of Antique Penny Rug

So, I will try to blog more often (I know, I’ve said it before) and I hope you will continue to read these posts. I apologize for disappointing you with so little activity! You deserve better!

Til next time . . .

One thought on “can you believe it?

  1. Sally,
    Welcome back! Just a coincidence that I checked your blog. I gave up on you months ago…lol!
    Yeah, times sure are tough! I am worried about getting laid off and it’s scary. Just have to hope and pray for the best.
    Lauren

    Like

Leave a Reply

